About the One Thing Needful

16 August 2010

There appeared on the internet a reply to the Synod of Bishops’ open letter addressed to the suspended clergy of the South American Diocese of the Church Abroad ( The author of this reply is the defrocked bishop Agathangel Pashkovskiy, who calls himself “metropolitan” (

Neither the letter of the Synod, nor the preceding appeal to the Synod from the South American clergy were addressed to the former bishop Agathangel.

However, we decided to reply to his commentaries since our letters are addressed not only to Latin America, but are intended for all, who came to be outside of the Church’s fold.

First of all, we assure former bishop Agathangel that, despite his feelings, the letter of the Synod of Bishops, to which he responded, was not written in Russia. Its collective authors were exclusively native members of the ROCOR, who were never in another jurisdiction, not even for a day. These individuals can in no way be numbered among the “contemporary Russians” because most of them were born outside the borders of our Historic Fatherland. It also is not clear where in the letter of the Synod of Bishop did the former bishop Agathangel find the call to “return to Russian Federation”, as well as the statements “as though in Russia all is well”.

Persistent accusations in “slanting”, “falsehood” and other rest wholly on the conscience of the former bishop Agathangel. His ambition is to claim the South American diocese of the Russian Church Abroad. Yet, upon what grounds? In reality, as any interested reader may easily find out, the case is as follows: according to Part IV, paragraph 37, point “n” of the current Regulations of ROCOR, “in case of a vacant episcopal see, to take upon himself temporary control of it or to assign a bishop before the appointment of a Ruling Bishop”. That is exactly what happened after the repose of His Grace, Bishop Alexander of South America. And it was exactly the same situation that came to be after the self-initiated creation and heading of the so-called “PSEA” by the former bishop Agathangel, which meant nothing other than his refusal to obey the Synod of Bishops that issued the decree about the appointment of former bishop Agathangel to the South American cathedra. Consequently, former bishop Agathangel could then in no way claim the administration of the South American Diocese of ROCOR and that was clearly understood by the clergy of that diocese. That is the reason why some of them have petitioned Vladyka Metropolitan Laurus, as their ruling hierarch, with the request for a “canonical release”, that being the subject of discussion in their letter. We are left only to quote the words of the former bishop Agathangel, applying what he wrote to his own case: “That is known by every native member of ROCOR, the author also knows it, but he writes a lie in order to confuse the readers”.

Speaking of ecumenism, former bishop Agathangel sites history and tradition instead of the Holy Canons quite intentionally. Both (history and tradition) unlike the Holy Canons, proceed “from man and according to man” and that is why they are always confirmed by the catholic (soborny) divinely inspired mind of the Church. For example, until a particular time the Church accepted considerably more New Testament scriptures than it does now. However, can we say that our Four Gospels are the breaking of the “historic traditions”, “traditions of the elders”? The well-known statement of our Council of Bishops of the Church Abroad of the year 1983, when the teaching of ecumenism was anathematised is only the opinion, the position pronounced by the part of the Local Russian Church. By the way, that was said by the ever-memorable Metropolitan Vitaly, whose views on ecumenism are well known to all. At the same time in the Local Russian Church, both in the Fatherland and abroad, joint services together with the heterodox were never permitted and the idea of the “plurality of the truth” was never preached. The external position of the Church Abroad remains immovable: thus, in the year 2008, His Eminence, the Very Most Reverend Metropolitan Hilarion, in his presentation in Moscow, once again called upon the Russian Orthodox Church to leave the World Council of Churches. His appeal, originating within our entire Russian Church Abroad, finds ever greater numbers of supporters among the hierarchs in the homeland.

The former bishop Agathangel calls “sergianism” a sin. Yet, he forgets, that the sin, expressed in the unworthy and in the end useless attempts of the Church authorities to find a common language with the earthly powers hostile to Christianity, is not foreign to himself. When he was a hierarch, Agathangel Pashkovskiy always exhibited an excessive inclination to participate in political campaigns. During the presidential election in 2004 in the Ukraine he held very close ties with one of the candidates, in reality taking part in the so-called “orange revolution”. The name of the former bishop Agathangel is associated with one of the most criticised city mayors and that was in no way beneficial for the Church. Now, of course, he is free to do as he minds. In any case, however, the fate of the hierarchy of the Russian Orthodox Church in the Fatherland, who, according to the words of St. John of Shanghai and San Francisco, had to keep Orthodoxy on the surface of the Russian life by suffering on the cross, is in no way diminished to such accusations.

Speaking of the “unlawful seizure of churches in Suzdal”, the former bishop Agathangel for some reason fails to mention from whom these churches were seized. We are speaking of the self-styled schismatic group “ROAC” of the twice defrocked Valentine Rousantsev. The transfer of these Suzdal churches to the Orthodox Church is at least as lawful as the transfer of the seized Church properties in other Russian cities, where churches were made into warehouses, clubs, museums and prisons.

The given example confirms the very fact that there are no more persecutions of the Church in today’s Russia.

Carried away by political insinuations, former bishop Agathangel stubbornly refuses to talk about the main content of the letter of the Synod of Bishops: about the division of the Church.

We did not say a word about secular affairs. We only said that the clergy, who left the fold of the Church, who made up a self-styled gathering, lost the right and the ability to perform the Mysteries. Those, who dare to serve despite being suspended, in accordance with the Holy Canons, defrock themselves. It means that both they, and the ones who approach them as pastors, are deprived of the grace-filled Mysteries, which are the only way to salvation.

It is of nothing else, but only of this, the one thing needful, we whole-heartedly whish that they would think while it is not too late.

Bishop of Montreal & Canada
Permanent member of the Synod of Bishops

Новости

О Едином на Потребу

16 Август 2010

В Интернете появился отзыв на открытое письмо Архиерейского Синода, обращенное к находящимся под запрещением, клирикам Южно-Американской епархии Русской Зарубежной Церкви (http://russianorthodoxchurch.ws/synod/2010/7sadioceseletter.html). Автором его явился лишенный сана епископ Агафангел Пашковский, именующий себя «митрополитом» (http://sinod.ruschurchabroad.org/100804.htm).

Ни указанное письмо Синода, ни предшествующее ему послание Синоду от южно-американских клириков не были адресованы бывш. епископу Агафангелу.

Тем не менее, мы сочли возможным ответить на его комментарии, т.к. наши письма адресуются не только в Латинскую Америку, но предназначены для всех тех, кто оказался  вне ограды Церковной.

Прежде всего, смеем уверить бывш. епископа Агафангела, что, вопреки его ощущениям, письмо Архиерейского Синода, на которое он откликнулся, не писалось в России. Его коллективным автором стали исключительно коренные «зарубежники», ни единого дня не состоявшие в иной юрисдикции. Лица эти никоим образом не могут быть причислены к «современным россиянам», т.к. большинство из них появилось на свет за пределами нашего Исторического Отечества. Непонятно также, где  в письме Синода б. еп. Агафангел обнаружил призывы к «возвращению в РФ», равно и утверждения, будто, «мол, в России все хорошо».

Упорные обвинения  в «передергиваниях», «неправдах»  и проч. целиком остаются на совести бывш. епископа Агафангела. Он претендует на Южно-Американскую епархию Русской Зарубежной Церкви.  Но на каком основании? В действительности же,  как легко сможет убедиться заинтересованный читатель,  дело обстоит следующим образом: согласно Разделу IV,  § 37,  пункту «м» действующего Положения о РПЦЗ, «в случае открытия вакансии архиерейской кафедры [Первоиерарх] принимает на себя временное управление ею или поручает таковое одному из Преосвященных до назначения туда управляющего». Именно так и произошло после кончины Преосвященного Александра Южно-Алериканского.  И в точности такое же положение возникло после самочинного создания и возглавления бывш. еп. Агафангелом т.н. «ВВЦУ», что означало ничто иное как отказ от подчинения Архиерейскому Синоду, от которого исходил указ об определении бывш. еп. Агафангела на Южно-Американскую кафедру. Поэтому бывш. еп. Агафангел уже никоим образом не мог претендовать на управление Южно-Американской Епархией РПЦЗ, что было прекрасно известно тамошнему клиру. Именно поэтому часть его и обратилась к Владыке Митрополиту Лавру как к своему Правящему Архиерею с просьбой о «каноническом отпуске», о чем и идет речь в их письме.   Нам остается лишь процитировать слова бывш. еп. Агафангела,   приложив им написанное к нему же самому: «Об этом знает каждый зарубежник, знает и автор статьи, но пишет заведомую неправду, чтобы ввести в заблуждение читателей».

Говоря об экуменизме  бывш. еп. Агафангел  совсем не случайно ссылается не на Св. Каноны, а на историю и традиции. И то, и другое, в отличие от Св. Канонов, исходит «от человеков и по человеку», и потому всегда поверяется соборным богодухновенным Церковным разумом. Например, до определенного времени Церковь признавала значительно большее число Новозаветных писаний, нежели теперь. Но позволительно ли сказать, будто бы наше Св. Четвероевангелие – это нарушение «исторических традиций», «преданий старцев»?  Известное постановление нашего Зарубежного Архиерейского Собора 1983 года, на котором экуменическое учение было анафематствовано —  есть лишь мнение, позиция, открыто высказанная частью Поместной Русской Церкви. Об этом, кстати,  прямо говорил приснопамятный Митрополит Виталий, чьи взгляды на экуменизм всем нам прекрасно известны. При этом в Поместной Русской Церкви, в Отечестве и в рассеянии сущей, никогда не было дозволено совместных сослужений Литургии с инаславными и никогда не проповедовалась идея «множественности истин». Всегдашняя позиция Зарубежной Церкви остается непоколебимой: так, в 2008 году Высокопреосвященнейший Митрополит Иларион в своем докладе в Москве вновь призвал Русскую Православную Церковь оставить Всемирный Совет Церквей. И его призыв, исходящий от всей нашей Русской Зарубежной Церкви,  находит все большее и большее число сторонников среди отечественного епископата.

Бывш. епископ Агафангел именует «сергианство» — грехом. Но он забывает, что грех, выражающийся в недостойных и в конечном итоге — тщетных попытках властей Церковных найти общий язык с враждебной Христианству земной властью, не чужд и ему самому. В бытность свою архиереем, Агафангел Пашковский постоянно проявлял чрезмерную склонность к участию в политических кампаниях. Во время президентских выборов 2004 года на Украине он поддерживал слишком тесные контакты с одним из кандидатов, фактически принимая участие в т. наз. «оранжевой революции».  Имя бывш. епископа Агафангела связывают с одним из наиболее пререкаемых украинских градоначальников, что никак не способствовало пользе Церковной.  Теперь он, разумеется, волен поступать по своему разумению. Но, во всяком случае, судьба священноначалия Русской Православной Церкви в Отечестве, которому, по словам Святителя Иоанна Шанхайского и Сан-Францисского, приходилось крестно удерживать Православие на поверхности Русской жизни, никак не сводима к подобного рода обвинениям.

Говоря о «беззаконном отнятия храмов в Суздале», бывш. еп. Агафангел почему-то умалчивает – у кого были изъяты эти храмы.  Речь идет о самочинной раскольничьей группе «РПАЦ» дважды извергнутого из сана Валентина Русанцова. Передача этих суздальских храмов Православной Церкви по меньшей мере столь же законна, как и возвращение неправедно отторгнутого Церковного достояния в иных российских городах, — там, где храмы были превращаемы в склады и клубы, музеи и тюрьмы.

Приведенный пример как раз и подтверждает, что гонений на Церковь в сегодняшней России больше нет.

Увлеченный политическими инсинуациями, бывш. еп. Агафангел упорно отказывается говорить о том, что являлось главным содержанием письма Архиерейского Синода: а именно, о расколе Церковном.

Мы ни словом не коснулись мiрских дел.  Мы говорили лишь о том, что клирики, покинувшие ограду Церковную, составившие самочинное сборище, утратили право и возможность Тайносовершения.  А дерзающие служить под запрещением, в согласии со Св. Канонами, сами извергают себя из сана. Это означает, что и они, и те, кто приступают к ним, словно к пастырям, лишены благодатных Таинств – единственному пути ко спасению.

Ни о чем другом, но только об этом, едином на потребу, мы усердно просим их задуматься, пока еще не поздно.

ГАВРИИЛ,
Епископ Монреальский и Канадский,
Постоянный член Архиерейского Синода